Who won the May 10 2010 Presidential Elections of the Philippines?

Nominee Benigno Aquino III Joseph Estrada
Party Liberal PMP
Running mate Mar Roxas Jejomar Binay
Popular vote 15,208,678 9,487,837
Percentage 42.08% 26.25%

When was PNOY elected?

On September 9, 2009, shortly after the death of his mother, he officially announced his candidacy in the 2010 presidential election, which he would go on to win. He was sworn into office as the 15th president of the Philippines on June 30, 2010, succeeding Gloria Macapagal Arroyo.

Who was the 15th president of the Republic of the Philippines?


No. President (Lifespan) Election
15 Benigno Aquino III (1960–2021) 2010
16 Rodrigo Duterte (born 1945) 2016

Who won the first Philippine national presidential election?

1935 Philippine presidential election

Nominee Manuel Quezon Emilio Aguinaldo
Party Nacionalista National Socialist
Running mate Sergio Osmeña Raymundo Melliza
Popular vote 695,332 179,349
Percentage 67.99% 17.54%

Has any president won one vote?

In 1800 – Thomas Jefferson was elected President by one vote in the House of Representatives after a tie in the Electoral College. In 1824 – Andrew Jackson won the presidential popular vote but lost by one vote in the House of Representatives to John Quincy Adams after an Electoral College dead-lock.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the mystery of Angkor Wat?

Who became president in 2010?

Presidency of Barack Obama

President Barack Obama
Cabinet See list
Party Democratic
Election 2008 2012
Seat White House

How old is Kris Aquino now?

50 years (February 14, 1971)

Who is the shortest serving president of the Philippines?

Sergio Osmeña is the shortest-serving President, serving for 1 year, 300 days (665 days).

Why did Benigno Aquino return to the Philippines?

In 1980, he was permitted by Marcos to travel to the United States for medical treatment following a heart attack. … As the situation in the Philippines worsened, Aquino decided to return to face Marcos and restore democracy in the country, despite numerous threats against it.

Who named the Philippines?

The Philippines are named after King Philip II (1527-1598) of Spain. The country was discovered by the Portuguese navigator Ferdinand Magellan in 1521 (while in Spanish service).

Why Ferdinand Marcos declared martial law?

President Marcos imposed martial law on the nation from 1972 to 1981 to suppress increasing civil strife and the threat of a communist takeover following a series of bombings in Manila.

Who ran for president in 1935?

Elected President

The 1936 United States presidential election was the 38th quadrennial presidential election, held on Tuesday, November 3, 1936. In the midst of the Great Depression, incumbent Democratic President Franklin D. Roosevelt defeated Republican Governor Alf Landon of Kansas.

Who is the first female president of the Philippines?

Corazon Aquino was the first female president of the Philippines.

What is the president’s salary?

According to Title 3 of the US code, a president earns a $400,000 salary and is still on government payroll after leaving office. The president is also granted a $50,000 annual expense account, $100,000 nontaxable travel account, and $19,000 for entertainment.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can US citizens retire in Singapore?

What was the closest presidential race ever?

Fourteen unpledged electors from Mississippi and Alabama cast their vote for Senator Harry F. Byrd, as did a faithless elector from Oklahoma. The 1960 presidential election was the closest election since 1916, and this closeness can be explained by a number of factors.

What state has the highest number of electoral votes?

Currently, there are 538 electors, based on 435 representatives, 100 senators from the fifty states and three electors from Washington, D.C. The six states with the most electors are California (55), Texas (38), New York (29), Florida (29), Illinois (20), and Pennsylvania (20).

Notes from the road